Act of Kindness : Residents of Taimali

After a 120 km ride between Chenggong (成功) and Taimali (太麻里), I stopped by a wedding dress store to see if I could get any recommendations on nearby accommodations. She picked up the phone, called her friend and proceeded to tell me that I wouldn’t be able to find it unless she took me there. She locked up her store, mounted her scooter and I followed her on my bike down a road that went into a small turnoff. Right on the beach, nice.

Turns out the place was packed with a yoga seminar (10 people) happening that weekend and all rooms were full, in fact there were many who were sleeping on the floor. The person running the homestay didn’t think twice and offered her room while she moved into another room with her friend. And turns out, a vegetarian dinner was being served that night, and probably the best one I’ve had to date.

Part of the (vegetarian) dinner

As we sat down to eat, it felt like I was at home talking with family. They just accepted a complete stranger and I couldn’t have been more grateful. They were helpful in teaching me a few new Chinese words/phrases and had a good conversation about philosophy and life in general.

I woke up at the crack of dawn and I saw this note next to the owner’s dog right outside my door. They were instructions for grabbing hot water, where to find oatmeal, and directions to the nearby 7-Eleven and other food stores. So residents of Taimali(太麻里), I have no idea if everyone here is like this, but thank you!

TL;DR:Crashed a yoga party. Displaced a resident. Had an awesome dinner with great company.

Occured: 03/2014


 

Acts of Kindess notes are dedicated to those who generously went out of their way to help a stranger (me). If I didn’t tell you in person, it is now ingrained in the internet black hole of blogs.

 

Leave a Reply

